2017 Errundonnee Day 1 and I have no furniture

It’s here!  The annual what-can-I-stuff-in-my-backpack-or-on-a-stroller adventure.  Alas, I have no broken furniture this year.  And no pressure to come up with something good because that would violate rule #9.

I mean, err,

something good would be fun, not stressful.  So for one of these 12 days, I need a plan, but you don’t get to read about it this time because today is not that day.  And it’s not competitive because if you put two chairs on a stroller it will be awesome and I totally won’t try to do three.

Anyways, here we go.

Day 1 (March 21), Trip #1: Track, groceries, commute: 9.6 miles

The running schedule, which I’m not a slave to – must… run… workout – put me on the track today for 400s.  This is a bit of a problem for an Errundonnee because it forces a destination and then leaves my legs toasted.  How does an errundonneur get to the track?  On foot of course (personal care?).

I was very pleased to learn that these legs still have some good 400s in them.

Anyways, the track isn’t far from a grocery store, so that was stop #2 (store) with photo evidence:

That put me on 85th, which is our nearby should-be-an-awesome-commercial-area-but-instead-is-a-highway.  I don’t run there very often because it and especially the crossings are fairly miserable:

I learned that one of the restaurants on the street (the Pegasus and then renamed Omega for anyone local) shut down, and the space has now been occupied by a pawn shop and a liquor store.  I don’t think the street is doing very well.

I also learned that sometimes nothing happens when I press the button to take a picture, so you are spared a picture of a pawn shop.

From there I saw that the nearby bus was a 20 minute wait, ran towards another line, realized I had no chance, ran towards a third line that I could make, missed that too, ran towards that second line again, and waited a bit for the next one.  So my commute was halfway (see exhibit A: toasted legs).

Day 1 (March 21), Trip #2: Commute: 2.7 miles (12.3 total)

Nothing much to see here.  I ran home, but I can make some stuff up.

I took a picture of a truck parked on a sidewalk, but there was car parked on a sidewalk in the way:

I learned that it’s actually possible for me to get home without having to stop because of cars.  This is no small feat.  First there’s an intersection of two 5-lane roads, and for each cycle there’s a 3 second or so green pedestrian signal.  Well, hitting that would be too much to ask, but the countdown timer is long.  Then there are side streets and another not-quite-as-large intersection.  Nobody had hit the beg button there, but the light was green.  I’ll take it.  Then I have a half mile to find a break in traffic on an arterial-residential street for a mid-block crossing.  That’s pretty easy (waiting for the crosswalk at the end probably means waiting to avoid getting run over in the crosswalk).  By this point I’d realized that I hadn’t stopped, so I was thinking about the two remaining crossings.  The first has a nearly instantaneous beg button (it’s mid-block), but waiting for the light to finish going through the yellow still counts as a stop.  But then someone had hit it on the other side with perfect timing (rare but occasionally happens).  Last is another mid-block crosswalk with no signal.  This one is tough because no one stops, but I hit a break in traffic.  As did a driver turning out of a nearby driveway which was not pleasant.  That’s easily the first time it all worked like that.

Ok, more seriously, as I was carrying those three boxes of granola home, I was thinking about past Errundonnees and trying new things.  It dawned on me how normal all of this transportation running has become.  For me, that is – I’m still the crazy guy that actually runs places.  I’ll still try to find something new, and while I might get lucky and figure out something ridiculous and new to haul, it will probably be something that I’d be tempted to try even without the Errundonnee now.  Like last month with the stroller to take one of the 3 year olds to a swimming lesson, then a brief workout down the Cross Kirkland Corridor trail, and then picking up a light fixture and other odds and ends at a hardware store.  No big deal.

Leave a Reply

