Michelle’s 2016 Errandonnee part 1

My Errandonnee started this year not with an epic trip like Mark’s, but with our usual routine.

 

Errand #1: a trip to ride my horse

On Friday morning, before anything else, I rode my bike to ride my horse. Then I rode home, and when I got home I put my helmet in the helmet basket and discovered that it was my helmet for riding my horse, not my bike. Fortunately, we have an extra adult-sized helmet around, so I didn’t need to go back right then.

WP_20160304_002 (2)

 

Possible category: personal care

Distance: 2 miles

Kids toted: zero, because personal care

 

 

Errand #2: greenway ride and coffee

 

We met with some fellow bike advocates to show them the proposed greenway in our neighborhood, then rode into Kirkland for “coffee.” Our 7yo rode where she could, and she rode onboard while I towed her bike where it wasn’t safe for her to ride.

 

bikes-greenway

Photo by Blake Trask

 

Possible category: social

Distance: 5 miles

Cumulative distance: 7 miles

Kids toted: 2, then 3

Cargo: diaper bag, entertainment for kids in the coffee shop, and a bike, part of the way

 

 

 

Errand #3: thrift store shopping

WP_20160305_001

Possible category: store

Distance: 8 miles

Cumulative distance: 15 miles

Kids toted: zero, I got to shop by myself

Cargo: large bag of purchases

 

 

Errand #4: church

 

This is our favorite ride. It’s low-stress, flat, and we have covered parking right on the plaza in front of the church. This was key this week as it was pouring while we were loading to go home. Then the sun came out on the way home, so we totally could have had a donut and waited it out.

 

WP_20160306_10_22_17_Pro 1

Blurry photo by Mark while riding

 

Possible category: non-store errand

Distance: 2 miles

Cumulative distance: 17 miles

Kids toted: 3

 

 

Errand #5: back to the barn

 

I wore my riding helmet back to the barn and retrieved my bike helmet after my ride.

 

WP_20160306_006

Possible category: Personal care

Distance: 2 miles

Cumulative distance: 19 miles

Kids toted: zero

 

 

Errand #6: double appointments

 

Two kids have weekly appointments in the Crossroads area of Bellevue. I am so glad that they overlap. Sometimes we bike, sometimes we bus (occasionally we drive and that stinks), and this is Errandonnee week, so the bike it was.

 

Possible category: Personal business, non-store errand

 

 

Errand #7: library

 

We do the weekly library drop off/pick up while in Crossroads. We also eat lunch in the food court, and this time some of the kids rode the kiddie carousel. Then we went to the bookstore for a birthday gift, but I’m only counting the library.

 

Possible category: Personal business, non-store errand, you carried what?!

Distance: the whole trip is about 14 miles

Cumulative distance: 33 miles

Kids toted: 4! Two on board, two in the trailer

Cargo: library books, lunch, diaper bag, school books, books and toys for kids while waiting, huge bag of rain gear just in case, two stuffed animals, baby carrier (so glad I had it)

 

More to come!

2 thoughts on “Michelle’s 2016 Errandonnee part 1

Leave a Reply

