Mark’s #errundonnee submission

It’s been a fun 12 days.  The “run” version of the Errandonnee was challenging for me for three reasons: (1) Sweat.  Many trips require one to be presentable on the other end.  We have showers at work, so commuting is ok.  (I know that some make it work with some combination of a sink and wet wipes, and I’m impressed.)  Things like the canonical “meet for a coffee or beer” require a little more planning of the venue (and friend).  This also adds a barrier to a quick errand isolated from others (another shower).  (2) Cargo.  Running is far rougher on cargo than cycling.  I have turned many lunches into casseroles on my way to work.  It’s also more difficult to handle the extra weight.  (3) Miles.  While 30 miles over 12 days was not a barrier for me, I devote a number of my weekly miles to training (speedwork being the biggest conflict) and keep one off day per week.  I didn’t utilize any multiple-run days.  From a running perspective, it doesn’t make a lot of sense to do so in the 30-45 mile/week range.

All of that said, it was still a reasonable task.

We had some debate over multiple categories per trip.  Clearly multiple destinations makes for multiple categories on a trip.  I suppose two distinct errands at the same location could also count, though I didn’t do that.  Of course, I can also run across a parking lot.  But we didn’t agree on “You carried WHAT?!”  I contend that carrying is a distinct action from the shopping (or whatever).  Of course, it’s hard to shop without bringing the purchases home, so it’s not exactly separable.  For me this came into play with my library trip since I want to claim a non-store errand as well as carrying those books.  To minimize the carrying of books, I actually made two stops (drop-off and pickup) on the same overall trip and arguably performed two errands.  This became moot when I did a second library trip on the last day.

Here are my runs with very brief required descriptions.  The linked blog posts have more details.  The categories in bold are what I counted.

  • Day 1: Evening commute – pleasant route through Cherry Crest – work – 5 miles
  • Day 2: Morning commute – other Cherry Crest entrance not as nice – work – 5 miles
    Impromptu afternoon groceries – boring distances seem longercarried WHAT? (groceries) – less than 1 mile
  • Day 3: Library – books are heavy – carried WHAT? (16 pounds of books) – 13 miles
    Strava segments – Juanita Village woes – personal care
  • Day 5: Investigate bike path, evening commute – cargo bike will be tough – personal business, work – 4 miles
  • Day 6: Passport – arrived first by running – non-store – 6 miles
    Running store – easier to make another stop without a car – social call
    Morning commute – work
  • Day 7: Pure run – no errands – 8 miles
  • Day 9: Investigate bike path – temporary lane closures make bike path better – personal business – 8 miles
    Soy sauce – a stroad – store
    Muffin – nice sidewalk replacement – personal care
    Morning commute – work
  • Day 10: Pure run – no errands – 13 miles
  • Day 12: Library – books are still heavy – non-store – 5 miles
    Croissant – found lots of bike racks – personal care
    Park – beautiful day – entertainment

Going by category:

  1. Personal care – days 9 and 12
  2. Personal business – days 5 and 9
  3. You carried WHAT?! – days 2 and 3
  4. Arts and entertainment – day 12
  5. Non-store – days 6 and 12
  6. Social call – day 6
  7. Work – days 1 and 2
  8. Store – day 9
  9. Wildcard – none

I covered 8 categories, 13 errands (2 max per category), and 67 miles.

All that remains is my “bike(s)” description, which naturally should be shoes:

Top row, from left:

  • Merrell Road Glove – These were my first minimalist shoes and therefore the oldest of the bunch.  They were ok at first but have really grown on me.  They have almost no cushioning and don’t deal with rocks well.  At first they were slippery in wet conditions but wearing them down seems to have helped with that.  I’m approaching 1500 miles in them.  They are falling apart.
  • New Balance MR1 Minimus Hi-Rez – These have a unique hexagon covering on the bottom with gaps that makes the shoe so flexible it can roll up into a ball.  They are incredibly lightweight and basically feel like socks.  They protect from rocks better than expected from their weight but still not particularly well.  Standing on wet pavement is enough to get your socks wet in these.  I’ll be wearing these more in the summer.
  • Saucony Hattori – These are an old ultra-lightweight pair.  They don’t handle rocks well at all but I like them on clear pavement and even the track.  Both of my big toes have punched holes in them that are now guarded by athletic tape.  I save them for some workouts and races.  I’ve raced up to 10 miles in them.  I didn’t use these in the event.
  • Inov-8 Trailroc 235 – These are my only trail shoes, though a few others are ok.  They definitely have the most aggressive traction of my shoes.  Unfortunately they seem to run small and I didn’t exchange them, so I can only wear thin socks, which I immediately punch through with my big toes.  I just reuse those socks anymore in them.  I didn’t use these in the event.

Bottom row, from left:

  • Mizuno Wave EVO Levitas – These shoes just make me want to run fast.  In fact, I liked them so much when I got them that I used them a ton, ran fast, and ended up with some fatigue issues in my feet and ankles.  The heel feels more like a cup than all of my other shoes, which may have had something to do with that.  These are less flexible than my other shoes and have some padding.  I use them for workouts and races.  I’ve also received a (sincere) fashion compliment while wearing these (pink and orange) shoes.
  • Merrell Bare Access 2 – These have some more padding, more than I really like but also a nice change from the others.  Unfortunately these are falling apart at 800 miles.
  • New Balance Minimus Zero V2 – These are replacing the Bare Access for me.  They also have more padding but feel more nimble.  It’s early but I like these so far.  I think I would choose these for a marathon.
  • Soft Star RunAmoc Dash with trail sole – I don’t run in these anymore, but they made an appearance in my grocery run.  At some point I’ll be writing about my experience with minimalist shoes.  I really like these and other Soft Stars as casual shoes.

All of these are “zero-drop” (the heel is not higher than the toes), though I have some doubts about the Levitas (but if it’s non-zero, then it’s not much).

That’s all!

5 thoughts on “Mark’s #errundonnee submission

  1. Pingback: Errandonnee 2015 Finishers and Honorable Mentions | chasing mailboxes

  2. Pingback: The Errandonnee: Ride or Run and Get Stuff Done | chasing mailboxes

  3. Pingback: Mark’s 2016 Errundonnee #1 – Running with a chair?!? | The View from the Crosswalk

  4. Pingback: My Errundonnee: Exploring Running as Transportation | chasing mailboxes

  5. Pingback: Mark’s 2016 Errundonnee Wrap-up | The View from the Crosswalk

Leave a Reply

